Environmental Studies

Ecological Concepts and Environmental Science examines various aspects of environmental science including an extensive overview of ecology and related concepts. It includes definitions of influential environmentalists, environmental attitudes, multidisciplinary nature of environmental science, environmental impacts on water, air and land, environmental disasters and hazards.

This volume offers important insights and a unique perspective in ecosystems aims to maintain healthy and resilient forest ecosystems by focusing on a reduction of differences between natural and managed landscapes to ensure long-term maintenance of ecosystem functions and thereby retaining biodiversity.

These volumes provide readers with a clearly written description of global-warming science and its role in shaping a body of knowledge regarding a worldwide issue that affects everyone. Includes primary documents sourced from major scientific journals and from the many reports on recent climate change from governmental organizations, including the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and World Meteorological Organization (WMO), both part of the United Nations; and the U.S. government's National Climate Assessment.

This reference book surveys the broad range of environmental and sustainability challenges in the emerging Anthropocene and scrutinizes available concepts, methodological tools, theories and approaches, as well as overlaps with adjunct fields of study. With this broad approach, the volume seeks to provide a pluralistic knowledge base of the research and practice of global environmental governance and politics in times of increased complexity and contestation.

This book presents important research advances in the study of environmental research, as well as grassland biodiversity, agricultural runoff, biodiversity hotspots, estuaries, freshwater ecosystems and conservation of natural resources.

This book presents important research advances in the study of water pollution, as well as marine pollution, river pollution, lake pollution, water purification, cruise ship pollution and the acidification of the earth's oceans.

This book presents important research advances in the study of air pollution, as well as traffic-related air pollution, the national air quality and the role of ship emissions in air pollution.

The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change explores major topics related to global warming and climate change--ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes. The scope of the encyclopedia is focused on providing a primarily nonscientific resource to understanding the complexities of climate change for academic and public libraries, written by scholars and institutional experts in the geosciences.

A Dictionary of Environmental History provides in a single volume a comprehensive reference work covering the past 12,000 years of the Earth's environmental history. Entries range from shorter factual accounts to substantial mini-essays on major topics and issues.

The Environment Dictionary provides an essential source of information on all aspects of the environment. It includes all the basic scientific terms and concepts along with socio-economic, cultural, historical and political elements which impact on the environment.

This handbook identifies many changes in regulations and recommends ways to apply and implement them. Structured as a "step-by-step how-to" book, readers will find real-life examples for the most important aspects of evaluating sustainability initiatives and preparing for new and revised environmental regulations.

The Routledge Handbook of Research Methods for Social-Ecological Systems provides a synthetic guide to the range of methods that can be employed in social-ecological systems (SES) research.