Library Student Assistants

Alma

Alma is the name of MSVU's library management system. Student Library Assistants will use it to manage loans and returns. Alma is only accessible online; the Library has it bookmarked in Firefox. Specific login instructions will be provided to Student Library Assistants. 

Library of Congress

The MSVU Library uses Library of Congress ("LC") classifications and alpha-numeric call numbers to organize and sort books and other materials. 

School libraries and public libraries tend to use the Dewey Decimal System. At MSVU, this system is used in the Faculty of Education's Curriculum Resource Centre (Seton 413). 

When helping a patron locate a book, or when shelving books, Student Library Assistants will refer to the call number sticker on each book. This sticker is usually located on a book's spine.

Most books in the MSVU Library are organized alphabetically and numerically according to the call number. Exceptions include special collections such as the Canadian Children's Book Centre Collection.

More information about the call number system can be found in the Library's Help Guide and About the Library page. 

Shelf Reading

Students regularly check for errors in how books are shelved and organized. This process is called shelf reading. The basic steps are as follows:

1. Consult the Shelf Reading Binder to find your assigned shelf reading area.
2. Scanning one shelf at a time, check the first line of each item's call number sticker to ensure everything on that shelf belongs to the same general classification. 
   • If you find a book that has been shelved spine-up, that means it was recently re-shelved. Double-check that this book is in the correct location and then set it upright.
   • Watch out for items that don't belong for other reasons, e.g., reference books (handbooks, dictionaries), reserves items, and materials that aren't owned by MSVU. 
3. Next, check the second line of each call number sticker to ensure the books are in numerical order.
4. Then repeat the process with the Cutter Number (a combination of letters and numbers).
   • Keep in mind that the Cutter Number is read as a decimal, e.g., M62 is shelved before M7
   • Continue until there are no lines left to consider
   • Keep in mind that if two items are identical except for the date, they should be shelved chronologically.
5. Record your progress in the Shelf Reading Binder so that you know where to pick up next time.
6. Any mis-shelved items should be scanned as if they are returns (in case they are lost or missing) and re-shelved correctly. 

Book Repair

Student workers may come across damaged books while shelf reading. Books with considerable damage that affects the reading experience should be either repaired or replaced. Student workers should not undertake this task. Instead, they should leave the book on the desk of the library technician responsible for book repair. They will work with the Acquisitions Coordinator to determine whether the book is an appropriate candidate for repair, replacement, or removal from the collection. 

Labels

The Library has a Dymo-brand label printer at the front desk that can print new spine labels for books (e.g., in case an existing spine label is damaged or contains an error) as well as address labels. Students will receive training on how to use this printer. 

Donations

Student workers may accept small donations at the desk, provided they are of "popular" titles that could sell easily in the book sale (e.g., fiction, current events, pop science). Any other donations are at the discretion of the Collections Librarian or Archivist, and should be arranged before drop-off. Potential donors should be encouraged to reach out via library@msvu.ca.

New Books

New books are displayed on the new book display shelves across from the main desk. When returning a new book, staff will see a "New Materials" pop-up message that indicates where the book can be shelved. 

Novanet

The MSVU Library & Archives is part of a network (a "consortium") of academic libraries in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick called Novanet. Every Novanet member allows students, staff, faculty, and some community members to borrow from their collections and visit their libraries in person. 

The following universities and colleges are part of Novanet. When sorting returned books, it is important to know which campuses are in the Halifax area and which are not. 

Archives

Archives collect original, unpublished material, which is unique and irreplaceable. The MSVU Archives specializes in collecting and preserving records that document the history of the university. The MSVU Archives are open only by appointment, and appointments must be arranged with the Archivist (archives@msvu.ca). More information about the Archives is available in our Archives Guide. 

Special Collections

The MSVU Library is home to several special collections, including the MacDonald Collection (rare/antique books) and the Lesbian Pulp Fiction Collection. Patrons wishing to access special collections should contact the Library (library@msvu.ca) to arrange a time. More information is available on the Library's Special Collections page. 

Canadian Children's Book Centre Collection

MSVU is also home to a deposit collection for the Canadian Children's Book Centre. All books in this collection are labeled "CCBC" and can be found on the lower floor of the Library. Most CCBC materials are shelved alphabetically by the author's last name. Some series are grouped together by the series name (e.g., popular children's book characters like Caillou). 

Microfilm and Microfiche

The Library's microfilm and microfiche collections are accessible only to staff. Anyone wishing to access these materials should submit a document delivery request (docdel@msvu.ca). Staff will provide a scan of the requested documents via email. 

The Library includes a variety of spaces for group and solo study. More information about Library spaces is available in the Policy Guide.

Student Study Rooms

The Library's nine (9) study rooms are for the use of current MSVU students only. Students should be encouraged to book study rooms independently using the online catalogue. Instructions and a link to the booking system (in Primo -- MSVU's online library catalogue) are available on the Student Study Rooms page of the MSVU Library website. 

Whiteboard marker/eraser packs are available to students who book time in a study room. 

Any student borrowing a study room key will be asked to fill out and sign a borrower agreement. The student assistant or staff member on duty should double-check and initial it. 

Study Carrels

The main floor of the Library includes dozens of study carrels (cubicles) with locking overhead cabinets and reading lights. Anyone may sit at a study carrel, but only select groups of students may rent the locking overhead cabinets. More information is available on the Student Study Carrels page. 

Semester-long, renewable key loans ($20 refundable deposit) are available to the following groups of students:

• students registered with Accessibility Services;
  • vetted via an e-mail from Accessibility Services; Library staff will never request medical information
• graduate students;
  • vetted via GD status on ID card
• undergraduate students writing an honours thesis.
  • vetted via thesis registration in the university database

Study carrels are quiet study areas. Students who need to make phone calls, talk in online meetings, or engage in groupwork should not sit in the study carrel area. 

Student library assistants should not complete study carrel sign-ups independently; they should ask a staff member for assistance. 

MacDonald Room

• Contains the Library's rare book collection
• Silent study space (no talking) with no food allowed
• Occasionally booked for university events

Learning Commons

• The large, open area that includes the front entrance, front desk, Printing Hub, and most computer workstations
• Conversations and group work welcome
• Anyone seated in this area should expect a degree of noise from printers, passers-by, patrons talking with Library staff, etc. 
• Nevertheless, disruptions such as yelling, running, and playing music/videos without headphones are not welcome; anyone engaging in these behaviours will be asked to stop and/or leave the space. 

Lower Floor

• The Library manages a large seating area past the IT&S Helpdesk
• Includes the Canadian Children's Book Centre Collection as well as print serials/periodicals
• Silent study space (no talking)

Noise Complaints

All areas of the Library include signage that indicates the appropriate noise level and examples of appropriate and inappropriate behaviour. More information about spaces and noise levels is available in the Library Policies guide. 

Students are welcome to share noise complaints in person, by email (library@msvu.ca) or by phone (902-457-6250). 

Noise complaints will be followed up on as soon as possible. A staff member or student assistant (identified with a work shirt, lanyard, or nametag) will walk through the area to assess the noise levels and ask any noisy library users to quiet down. If the problem persists, Library staff may call Security to assist (at extension 6412). 

All noise complaints should be tracked on the clipboard. 

Student Printing

All printing is prepaid before printing. 

All students have a Print Credit account, listed by username. To pull up a student's printing account, ask for their student ID card, type in their name, and confirm whether they have any numbers in their email address (e.g., sponge.bob3@msvu.ca) to ensure you choose the correct account. 

• $2.00 minimum for cash payments
• $5.00 minimum for debit/credit card payments
• 10% bonus if you purchase $20 or more (e.g., 220 pages for the price of 200)

The Library has two student printers, Info Commons 1 and Info Commons 2, both located in the Print Hub, which is located on the main floor of EMF. 

• Info Commons 1 can only print in black and white.
• Info Commons 2 can print either black and white or in colour.   

Guest Printing

All guest printing must be prepaid before printing. 

The Library has four (4) guest printing accounts (listed at the desk). Staff and student workers should be careful to assign different accounts to different guests so that they do not accidentally use each other's printing credits. 

Printing Cost

• Letter size printing (8.5”x11”), black-and-white printing = $0.10 per page
• Colour letter-size printing = $0.50 per page.
• Legal-size printing (8.5"x14") costs an additional $0.10 per page
• A double-sided page costs the same as two single-sided pages because the cost of toner (ink) is much higher than paper. 

Scanning

There is no charge for scanning documents and sending them to an e-mail address. Patrons may use their MSVU e-mail address or a personal e-mail account. 

Instructions for scanning are posted above each printer for the patron’s reference.

Photocopying

The Library's photocopier is also located in the Print Hub. It looks very similar to the Info Commons 2 printer, so be sure to use the correct machine!

To use the photocopier, patrons must purchase a refillable copy card from the Library's front desk. Cards are available in the following denominations:

• $3.00 (22 copies);

• $5.00 (44 copies);

• $10.00 (100 copies);

• $20.00 (211 copies)

Patrons who return their empty copy card will receive a $1.00 cash refund.

Printing/Stationery Supplies

Paper, scissors, staplers, a 3-hole punch, and an electric pencil sharpener are all available in the Print Hub. Heavy duty staplers (for large documents) are available at the Library's front desk. 

MSVU Students / Staff / Faculty

Students, staff, and faculty should use their MSVU credentials to log into computers and access wifi. For more information on how to connect to wifi using specific devices, visit the MSVU IT&S website. 

Guests / Public / Visitors

The Library is also happy to provide computer and wifi access to the general public. The current usernames and passwords are posted at the front desk. These are updated regularly to prevent misuse. 

Students, staff and faculty visiting from other colleges and universities may request guest computer logins, and may access MSVU wifi via Eduroam. 

Equipment Loans

A selection of small equipment items (headphones, phone chargers, etc.) available for 5-hour loan to any library user. 

• An individual student may not borrow multiples (e.g., only one phone charger loaned at a time)
• Student assistant and staff should be careful to check these items in/out and note the numbered sticker on the item and back (which should match)
• Plastic bags for small equipment items should not be given out to borrowers; they are kept in order at the front desk. 

A small number of laptop computers are available for 24-hour loan to MSVU students only (due to cost and demand).  

• Students must fill out and sign a form in order to borrow a laptop.
• Due to demand and cost, fines for late laptop returns are quite high and begin accruing immediately. 
• A laptop loan will include a computer, cord, and tote bag.

More information about equipment loans is available in the Equipment guide.

Methods of Payment

• The Library accepts cash, debit (Interac), Visa, and MasterCard. The Library does not accept American Express.
• Minimum cash payments are $2.00 and the credit/debit minimum is $5.00.
  • The Library will make an exception in certain cases, e.g., if a patron is buying a small quantity of inexpensive school supplies or items from the book sale. 
• The Library cannot make change for bills larger than $20 (i.e., no change for $50 or $100 bills).

Opening/Closing 

The Library has a cash register and a debit/credit machine, which must be opened/activated each morning and closed/deactivated each evening. As part of their training, Library staff will show new Student Library Assistants where to find these instructions and how to carry them out. 

Receipts

Use the following instructions to ensure the Library's receipts are kept neat and organized.

All receipts:

• Be sure to select the correct transaction category in the cash register (e.g., Print Credits = 05, ID cards = 06, etc.).
• Be sure to choose the correct payment method (e.g., Cash = CA, Debit/Credit = CH)
• The RF (refund) button can be used to make a correction -- see below for instructions. 
• Staple receipts together using the staple-free stapler
  • Be sure each paper is straight and tidy before stapling
  • Yellow cash register receipt should be stapled on top of debit/credit receipt
• Crease/fold stapled receipts down the centre to prevent curling
• File the receipt in the receipt envelope
  • Choose the correct transaction category
  • Newest receipt gets filed at the back so that the receipts stay in order by time/date
• Customer copies of receipts (white cash register receipt; "cardholder copy" credit/debit receipt) should either be given to the patron or placed on the receipt stake.
• Always keep the merchant copies (yellow cash register receipt; "merchant copy" credit/debit receipt) for the Library's records.

Yellow cash register receipts:

• Write the purchase category (e.g., Print Credits, ID card, Book Sale, etc.)
• Write the method of payment (e.g., Cash, MasterCard)
• Write your initials

Late fines receipts (NOT lost book charges):

• Write the patron's name and ID number or barcode
• Write the title and barcode of the late book/item

Lost book / book replacement charges:

• Do not complete the transaction yourself!
• Student workers must ask a library technician to complete the transaction and paperwork. 

Print credit receipts:

• Write the username of the student (not too close to the top, or it will be hidden when stapled)
• Remember that anyone purchasing $20 or more is eligible for a 10% bonus, which should be indicated on the receipt. See below for instructions on how to add the bonus.

Cash Register

Voids / Corrections

• Do not try to correct a transaction mid-way through (e.g., you realized after pressing the Print Credit button that you entered $50 instead of $5). Complete the incorrect transaction and then complete a correction. 
• Use the RF (refund) button to make the correction. The sequence of steps is exactly the same as performing a transaction, but the RF button is pressed first (e.g., RF --> $45 --> Print Credits --> CH). 
• Staple all receipts together, including the original and corrected receipts. Include notes if possible. 
• File in the receipt envelope. 

Pcounter

Pcounter is an application used to track print credit purchases, transactions, and print jobs.

Bonus Printing (for purchases of $20 or more):

• The bonus is calculated like so: 
  • $20 = $2 bonus, $25 = $2.50 bonus, $30 = $3 bonus, etc. 
• In the student's printing account, follow these steps:
  • Deposit the transaction amount (e.g., $20)
  • Perform a "set balance" that includes the amount purchased + the bonus + any pre-existing credit (e.g., $22)
  • Note the bonus on the cash register receipt

End-of-Day Reports

End-of-day printing (Pcounter) report:

1. Reports --> Accounting --> Deposits Made --> Matches --> Detailed --> Time filter: Today --> Generate --> Print
2. Compare each receipt to the report by matching usernames and the amount paid. Circle any errors. Initial the report and attach receipts.
   • Receipts should be in order according to the Pcounter report.
   • Include, in a separate pile, any customer copies from the receipt stake.
3. Place the Pcounter report in the green folder on the Cash person's desk along with the receipt stake.
4. Put out a new empty receipt stake next to the cash register

End-of-day debit/credit (POS) batch report:

1. Detailed instructions available during training / from Library Technicians
2. Fold in half and crease to avoid curling
3. File in the receipts envelope to the back of the POS batch reports tab

Document Delivery services ("Doc Del," sometimes called "Interlibrary Loan" or "ILL") expand the range of print and electronic library materials available to students, staff, faculty, and community members. Materials may be ordered from within Novanet or from other libraries across Canada. Faculty members may occasionally request international document delivery. More information is available in the Library's Doc Del Guide. 

Holds

The most basic document delivery request is when an MSVU patron requests a "hold" on an MSVU item. Library staff or Student Assistants will collect these materials each day, scan them, and place them on the Hold Shelf at the front desk. Additional instructions are provided to Student Assistants during training. 

Novanet Express

MSVU patrons may request materials from other Novanet libraries, just as patrons from other schools such as NSCC and Dalhousie may request MSVU items. These materials are collected daily and transported from library to library via Canada Post or the Metro Book Truck. Novanet Express materials on hold will have a green slip, and must be checked out in Alma. 

Additional instructions are provided to Student Assistants during training. 

Non-Novanet Document Delivery

When Document Delivery requests can't be fulfilled within MSVU or Novanet, the requests will be sent to other libraries across Canada. These materials will include a blue slip and a sticker on the front cover reminding staff, student workers, and patrons that the item doesn't belong to Novanet. 

When a Student Library Assistant is checking out a book with a blue slip, the following steps must be taken:

• Open the patron's library account in Alma
• Do not scan the book barcode -- non-Novanet books are checked out ahead of time by staff
• Look for the book title in the list of loans -- if you can't find it, ask a staff member for help
• Tell the patron the due date -- non-Novanet items often have unique due dates, and may be due in only a week or two
• Tell the patron to contact us if they need more time -- Library staff may be able to arrange for a renewal

Borrow Anywhere, Return Anywhere (BARA)

MSVU participates in Libraries Nova Scotia's Borrow Anywhere, Return Anywhere (BARA) program, whereby all university, community college, and public libraries in Nova Scotia agree to allow each other's patrons to borrow and return books wherever they wish, at their convenience. For example, an adult with a Halifax Public Libraries card can return HPL books to MSVU or register as a Community Borrower and borrow MSVU/Novanet books. Another example: an MSVU patron visiting Cape Breton can return their books to a public library on the island. 

The BARA program is especially popular among MSVU staff and faculty who are parents of young children -- they will often return their kids' public library loans to MSVU. 

Public library books are not scanned in Alma when returned. Instead, they are placed on the BARA shelf at the front desk. BARA returns should also include a return slip and a date stamp so that patrons are not unfairly charged late fines. 

• One stamped return slip per book
• Always return the stamp kit to the shelf

Electronic Requests

Many patrons request articles or book chapters, which are usually delivered to them by email as PDF files. If a patron has a question or concern about their electronic request, Student Library Assistants should refer them to a staff member or provide them with contact information for Document Delivery (docdel@msvu.ca). 

The term "community borrowers" refers to any patron who is not a student, faculty member, or staff member at a Novanet institution. Most community borrowers are "OCBs" (off-campus borrowers), but some have other special statuses. 

Registration

Community borrowers should be at least 18 years of age and have proof of local (NS or NB) address. Student Library Assistants should not complete patron registration for community borrowers -- ask a Library staff member for assistance. 

OCBs

Off-Campus Borrowers, or "OCBs" are community members (often alumni or people who live near MSVU) who wish to use MSVU's borrowing services. OCB privileges allow community members to borrow from over a hundred libraries across the province. OCBs may have an MSVU Alumni card, a Novanet card, or a public library card. 

Lending Policies

• 3-week book loans
• 3 renewals (2 renewals for the Dalhousie Law Library) unless materials are requested by other patrons. 
• OCBs may not request that books be "recalled" for their use.
• Most participating libraries do not limit the number of simultaneous loans, though MSVU limits OCBs to 10 items at a time.
• Other policies (periodicals; reserves; etc.) will vary from library to library. 

BARA patrons

BARA ("borrow anywhere, return anywhere") patrons are OCBs who are registered with their Nova Scotia or New Brunswick public library card rather than receiving a new Novanet card. Their privileges are identical to those of OCBs who have Novanet cards. 

CAAL/CURBA patrons

CAAL/CURBA cards can be issued to students, staff, or faculty who are visiting from other universities from across Canada. Student Library Assistants should ask another staff member to assist with any registration or transactions for CAAL/CURBA patrons. 

IB students

Local high school students registered in the International Baccalaureate program may borrow MSVU materials. Student Library Assistants should ask another Library staff member for assistance with registration or transactions for IB students. Unlike other community borrowers, IB students are not required to be 18 years of age.

Print Reserves materials are placed on a special hold shelf to be used by students taking a particular class. They are located at the front desk, between the Hold Shelf and the DVDs. More information is available in the Reserves Guide. 

Print Reserves are organized into two sections:

• Library-Owned -- materials belonging to MSVU or another library; organized by call number.
• Instructor-Owned -- items on loan from a professor's or instructor's personal collection; organized by the instructor's surname

Reserves items can be identified by a green "R" sticker on the spine and a label on the front cover that specifies the class and the length of the loan. Reserves are short-term loans; the course instructor choses the loan period (e.g., 3-hour, 24-hour, 7-day, etc.).

Check-in/Check-out

Follow the standard check-out process in Alma. Be sure to remind the patron when the loan is due. 

When returning a Reserves item, watch for a pop-up in Alma that says "Temporary shelving location is Course Reserves," and re-shelve the item appropriately. 

Faculty Requests

If an instructor approaches the desk with a Reserves request, student workers should ask a staff member to come to the desk. 

If a staff member is not available, provide the instructor with a Reserves form (located on the Reserves shelf). Place the completed form and the book(s) on the Reserves staff person's desk. 

Seed Library

The Library's seed library launched in summer 2025. It is located in a vintage card catalogue cabinet beside the printing hub. Each drawer contains a different variety of seeds, and all are free for the taking. 

Patrons are also encouraged to donate seeds by dropping them off at the front desk. As needed, student assistants help to sort seeds into envelopes and refill the cabinet. 

Crafternoons

Crafternoons is a weekly crafting circle hosted in the printing hub (or learning commons, as needed). It is open to all members of the MSVU community. Participants can work solo or join in an activity. The Library provides some basic materials and supplies, as well as a sewing machine. 

Craft supply donations may be accepted at the front desk and given to the library technician responsible for organizing them. 

Crafternoons started as a community crochet project, creating gender-affirming items for students in need. It expanded in 2024 and recently received funding through the President's Fund thanks to student assistant Skyler Anadkat. 

School Supplies

The Library sells a selection of stationery / school supplies for the convenience of students who need them after hours (when the Bookstore is closed) or during midterms/exams. 

It is very important for everyone on duty at the Library to track these materials carefully, as they belong to the Bookstore, not the Library!

1. Add the sold item to the tally sheet located on top of the supply cabinet
2. Select the correct cash register category (stationery supplies or "extras") and make notes on the register receipt.

All Bookstore items are final sale. Defective items may be exchanged, not returned. 

Social Media

The Library & Archives maintain Instagram and Facebook accounts. 

Social media is coordinated by the Academic Engagement Librarian, who works with interested library technicians and student assistants to create and post content. 

The library will provide training, login information, and a social media guide to interested student workers.

Lost & Found

For the convenience of our patrons, the Library keeps a Lost & Found in the cabinets under the front desk. Common lost & found items include laptop chargers, eyeglasses, and clothing. 

Valuables (cellphones, car/house keys, student ID cards, wallets) should be given to Security at the earliest opportunity. When Security does a pickup, Library Staff and Security should complete and sign the Lost & Found clipboard by the cash register. 

Water bottles and thermoses can quickly overwhelm the Lost & Found cabinet, so they should be placed on the overflow shelves in the Print Hub rather than in the cabinet. 

Open or perishable food / beverage items should be disposed of, not placed in the Lost & Found. 

When the Lost & Found cabinet is full, work with a staff member to select some older items to place in the Print Hub for free.