Library Operations

An online chat-based reference service provided by Novanet libraries.

Live Help (online chat)

Library Hours of Operation & Online Research Help Hours

The MSVU Library & Archives team is pleased to welcome all students, faculty, staff, alumni, and community members to campus. Please familiarize yourself with the MSVU vaccine policy before visiting campus. 

Visit the Library & Archives Guide to Resources & Services for a full list of our services & resources.

 

Research Help Hours

November

Service Monday-Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Online (email or appointment) 10am - 7pm 10am - 5pm 11am - 3pm (email only) -
In-person (appointments have priority) 10am - 7pm 10am - 5pm 11am - 3pm -
LibChat (MSVU specific chat service) 11am - 3pm - - -
Live Help (chat service staffed by employees from all the Nova Scotian university & college libraries) 10am - 10pm 10am - 6pm - 4pm - 10pm
Closures: November 11th - Remembrance Day

Research Appointments

Meet for advice on defining your topic, developing your research strategy, or locating and using subject-specific sources. 

Research Appointments must be made at least 24 hours in advance. 

If you need to cancel an on-campus appointment, please contact us at library@msvu.ca, or call 902-457-6250, or use the cancellation link in your confirmation email.

Online Research Appointments

Online appointments will be held on Microsoft Teams or BB Collaborate. You will receive a link to your appointment before the appointment is to begin.

On-Campus Research Appointments

On-campus appointments will be held in person at the MSVU Library. Please check in at the Library front desk no more than 5 minutes before your appointment is to begin. You must observe all public health protocols during your appointment. This is not a drop-in service. On-Campus appointments must be booked ahead of time.

Archives Appointments

Visits to the Archives are available by appointment only.  If you are planning to do research at the MSVU Archives, please contact the Archives at archive@msvu.ca or 902-457-6402.

Novanet Partner Libraries

MSVU Campus Map

Contact the Library

The Mount Library
15 Lumpkin Rd
Mount Saint Vincent University
Halifax, NS B3M 2J6

library@msvu.ca

902-457-6250

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License. You may copy the guide as long as credit is included. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials. Please be aware that many of our guides contain links to subscription-based services for which access is restricted, and collections of resources that may have additional rights reserved. Please consult the licenses and terms of use for each resource.