Resources & Services

Research Services

Available Online

• Live Help

• Live Help is an online chat-based service provided by the Novanet libraries. This service is designed to respond to brief questions that can be answered quickly and effectively using online resources. A chat box appears to the left whenever LiveHelp staff are on duty.

• Research Appointments

• Meet with a librarian via Web conferencing: Skype, Blackboard, etc. for advice on finding scholarly research for your assignments, or locating and using subject-specific sources.
  View availability

• Ask a Question by email

• We will answer all your questions about library services and collections.
  library@msvu.ca

• Library FAQS 

• If you have a question, you can check the FAQs to see if it has already been answered.

• Instruction / Workshops 

• Librarians can visit your online classes to provide library research instruction, or to provide modules for your Moodle sites.
  Request via library@msvu.ca

• Online Help Guides

• Step-by-step instructions on how to find and use library resources. 

• Subject Guides
  (LibGuides)

• Subject Guides contain resources tailored to your department/subject area. A great place for starting your research!

• Citation Assistance
   (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.)

• Help with citation styles

Access to Collections

Availablity

• Ebooks

• Search for and access ebooks available via the Mount Library. Most books can be accessed by multiple readers at the same time.
   

• Research Databases and Online Collections 

• Discover new databases or go directly to the ones you already know. The list can be filtered by subject, content type (articles, images, primary sources, etc.), and whether a login is needed.

• Online Journals 

• You can also limit your search to peer-reviewed journals only.  

• Streaming Media

• Search for and access streaming movies, documentaries and educational videos available via the Mount Library.

• E-Commons
  Institutional Repository 

• The Mount E-commons is Mount Saint Vincent University's institutional repository, which provides access to and preserves research and other institutional outputs (e.g. theses) created by Mount faculty, students, and staff. 

• Archives

• Limited access
  • Archival descriptions and digitized photographs
  • Digitized yearbooks, newsletters, etc.
  • Contact archives@msvu.ca for all other queries.

• Print Collections

• Books and articles are available from the Mount and our partner libraries across Canada. Place a hold or a document delivery request via the Mount Library website and pick up in person at the Library.
• Mail delivery also available for distance students. 
• Send questions about holds and document delivery to library@msvu.ca

• Special Collections

•  Limited Online access

General Library Services

Availablity

• Mount ID card
  Barcode number / password reset and troubleshooting

• Email library@msvu.ca with questions. You can expect a reply between 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. Atlantic time.
• Visit the Library to have your photo taken and receive a photo ID card on the spot.
• Your first card is free, but replacement cards are $10. The Library provides free update stickers to returning students.
• Place an online request for a card or update sticker if you are unable to visit the Library.

• Printing, Photocopying, Scanning

• Available on campus to students, staff, faculty, and community members.
• When the Library is closed, businesses such as Staples may be able to help you with printing
• Various scanning apps are also available for smartphones

• Student Study Room Reservations

• Study rooms are available for solo use in McCain and EMF. 
• Students may remove their masks and eat/drink while working in study rooms.
• Book a Study Room

• Book Checkout

• Books and articles are available from the Mount and our partner libraries across Canada.
• Pickup is available in person in the Library. Delivery by mail also available to distance students. 
• Place a hold or a document delivery request via the Mount Library website.
• Send questions about holds and document delivery to library@msvu.ca

• Book Renewals

• Novanet Libraries no longer charge overdue fines on general loan materials (i.e., most books)
• Due to the pandemic, all MSVU students are eligible for term loans (due Sept 30, Jan 30, May 30).
• MSVU Faculty and Staff also receive term loans.
• Email library@msvu.ca for assistance.

• Laptops & Equipment

• A limited number of laptops are available for 24-hour loan. Visit the Library in person to borrow a laptop.
• Sorry, some types of equipment (i.e., headsets) aren't currently available due Covid-19 risks/hygiene. 

• Online Reading Lists

• via Moodle
• Faculty must fill out the Library's Request Form in order to grant Library Staff access to Moodle course sites.

• Print Reserves

• Print Reserves (i.e., books shelved at the front desk for short-term loan to students) are now available. 
• The Course Readings & Media team is able to source material for scanning (individual chapters, articles, etc.) from our partner libraries across Novanet.
• Send requests to reserves@msvu.ca

• PDF/online Journal Articles

• Yes; place a document delivery request.

• Print Journal Articles

• Yes; scanning from print journals (owned by the Mount or our partner libraries) is available by placing a Document Delivery request.

• Books

• Yes; books and articles are available from the Mount and our partner libraries across Canada.
• Pickup available in person in the Library. Mail delivery also available for distance students. 
• Place a hold or a document delivery request via the Mount Library website. Send questions about holds and document delivery to library@msvu.ca

 Ordering/Processing

Availablity

• Library Materials Requests 
• Library Acquisitions processing

• Yes
   

• Electronic Content
• Print Materials

• Yes