Library Policies

The facilities and collections of Mount Saint Vincent University (MSVU) Library & Archives are shared resources, serving hundreds of students, faculty, staff, consortial partners, and community members every day. This library policy intends to respect and support all users, with the understanding that current students and employees of the university have first priority for services and materials.

As members of an academic community, library users and library employees are responsible for sustaining a scholarly environment, which the MSVU Library & Archives defines as an environment that is conducive to learning, research, scholarship, creative production, and collaboration. In the case of a disagreement over whether any use of library space or services is appropriate, MSVU Library & Archives 

As a library user, you have the right to:

• access a scholarly environment free from discrimination, intimidation, and harassment – see MSVU’s Anti-Harassment and Discrimination Policy and Policy Against Sexual Violence;
• respectfully ask others to lower their voices or end conversations in designated quiet areas;
• request and receive assistance from library employees in maintaining a scholarly environment;
• expect library employees to take your concerns seriously and make an effort to preserve or restore a scholarly environment;
• enjoy privacy and confidentiality with respect to information sought or received, or resources consulted, borrowed, or acquired.

The MSVU Library & Archives is a key academic service for all members of the MSVU community, including students, faculty, staff, and others. 

Per the Student Charter of Rights and Responsibilities in MSVU’s Non-Academic Discipline Policy: 

Each student is responsible for contributing to a community that supports learning, teaching, and research. Conduct that interferes with another student’s ability to participate in university activities or complete academic requirements is considered to be misconduct. (1.2.c) 

As a library user, you have the responsibility to:

• comply with library and university policies and employee directions and requests related to those policies;
• maintain a scholarly environment free from discrimination, intimidation, and harassment, which includes but is not limited to:
  • treating other library users and employees with dignity and respect;
  • respecting the privacy and confidentiality of other library users and employees;
  • abiding by MSVU’s Regulations Governing Computer Use;
• use library spaces in a way that does not disrupt the scholarly environment, which includes but is not limited to:
  • respecting the designated uses of library spaces;
  • avoiding disruptive noises, odors, and behaviors (including smoking or vaping; see the MSVU Smoking Policy);
  • overseeing and maintaining control of your personal belongings, including any food or drinks;
  • refrain from photographing or recording other library users without their express permission; 
• help preserve library spaces, which includes but is not limited to:
  • not bringing pets into the library; service animals are welcome;
  • securing recreational vehicles, such as bicycles and scooters, in designated locations outside of the library;
  • organizing displays or events in library space only with prior approval from library staff;
  • posting signs, notices, and flyers only in designated spaces, with prior approval of library staff;.
  • entering the library’s office area, staff lounge, and other non-public spaces only with library employee permission;
  • maintaining library spaces free from hazards and returning furniture and equipment to standard or original configurations after use;
• help preserve library collections, which includes but is not limited to:
  • checking out library materials before removing them from the library;
  • following any special usage instructions indicated on the material or given by library employees (e.g., when working with special collections);
  • placing materials on designated carts after use (rather than reshelving);
  • refraining from concealing or relocating library materials for the exclusive use of an individual or group;
  • returning library materials in a timely manner and in good condition;
  • reporting damaged materials to library staff;
  • compensating MSVU Library & Archives for lost or damaged materials;
• help preserve library computers and equipment, which includes but is not limited to:
  • limiting consumption of food and drinks around computer workstations (e.g., using a covered travel mug);
  • requesting assistance from library staff if unsure of how to use particular equipment or items;
  • reporting equipment damage to library staff right away;
  • returning high-demand short-term loan items such as equipment and reserves in a timely manner and in good condition;
  • compensating MSVU Library & Archives for lost or damaged equipment.