Queen's University has posted the historical tables for the Canadian Censuses.
What is a Primary Source?
Primary Sources originate in the time period that historians are studying. They may include diaries, letters, eyewitness reports, personal memoirs, government documents, oral histories and contemporary visual sources. "Experienced researchers look for data in primary sources first ... Secondary sources are books and articles that analyze primary sources." A Manual for Writers ..." by K. Turabian. 7th ed. 2007. MSVU: Ref. LB 2369 T8 2007.
Online Book & Document Collections : Secondary Sources
Canadian research on the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences published in either French or English in academic journals, e-books, theses. History is well represented with access to articles from 20 journals including Historical Papers, Acadiensis, and Labour. Note: You may need to request document delivery for some items.
Research Portals to Collections in Maritimes History
A comprehensive bibliography on Atlantic Canada from the 1980s to the present with searching capability. The search bar on the top right-hand corner of the screen will allow you to search the bibliography along with all of the Atlantic Canada Portal.
MemoryNS is a descriptive database of archival records held by various archival institutions across Nova Scotia. Created by the Council of Nova Scotia Archives, MemoryNS comprises thousands of descriptions of textual, photographic, and audio-video primary sources. The database also serves as the main catalogue of holdings for Nova Scotia Archives.
To discover holdings for Mount Saint Vincent University Archives, please see archives.msvu.ca