History of the Maritime Provinces

A guide of interest to students researching the history of the Maritime Provinces of Canada: Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island.

Guides to Sources in Canadian History

Canadian History

Canadian History: A Reader's Guide V. 1 Beginnings to Confederation. ed. M. Brook Taylor Ref. Z 1382 C35 1994 v.1

Canadian History: A Reader's Guide V.2 Confederation to the Present. ed. M. Brook Taylor Ref. Z 1382 C35 1994 v.2

Reader's Guide to Canadian History v.1 Beginnings to Confederation. ed. D.A. Muise Ref. Z 1382 R42 1982 v.1

Reader's Guide to Canadian History v.2 Confederation to the Present. ed. J.L. Granatstein & P. Stevens Ref. Z 1382 R42 1982 v.2

Bibliography of the History of Quebec and Canada. ed. P. Aubin and L.M. Cote Ref. Z 1382 A8

Bibliography Canadiana. comp. C. Thibault Ref. Z 1382 T47 1973

"Recent Publications Relating to the History of the Atlantic Region" Acadiensis - each Autumn and Spring issue

Resource Guides to Topics in Maritimes History

Aboriginal Peoples

Native Canadian Anthropology and History: A Selected Bibliography rev ed. S. Krech Ref. Z 1209.2 C2 K74 1994

Acadians

"Acadians" . N. Griffiths in Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples. pp. 114-136  Ref. F 1035 A1 E56 1999

Guide bibliographique de l'Acadie 1976-1987. comp. H. Harbec Ref. Z 1392 A3 G84 1988

Blacks

"African Canadians". J. Walker in Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples. pp.139-176. Ref. F 1035 A1 E56

Children

"Atlantic Canada" in History of Canadian Children and Youth:A Bibliography pp. 359-382 Ref. Z 7164 C5S942 1992

Loyalists

Loyalist Guide: Nova Scotia Loyalists and Their Documents. comp. J. Peterson Ref. Z 1392 N72 P8 1983

Nova Scotia

Cape Bretoniana: An Annotated Bibliography. comp. B.D. Tennyson Ref. Z 1392 C27 T47 2005

Common Heritage: An Annotated Bibliography of Ethnic Groups in Nova Scotia.  Ref. Z 1392 N72 M6 1984

Shelburne County Nova Scotia: An Annotated Bibliography. comp. K. Powell  Ref. Z 1392 N72 P69 2004

Planters

Checklist of Secondary Sources for Planter Studies. comp. D.C. Godwin and S.B. McNutt  Ref. Z 1392 M37 G66 1990

New England Planters in the Maritime Provinces of Canada 1759-1800: Bibliography of Primary Sources. comp. J.A. Norton Ref. Z 1392 M37 N67 1993

Religion

Baptists in Canada 1760-1990: A Bibliography of Selected Printed Sources in English. Ref. Z 7845 B2 G7 1989

Urban Studies

Canada's Urban Past: A Bibliography to 1980. comp. A. Artibise and G. Stelter  Ref. Z 7164 U7 A7 1981

Women

"Atlantic Women's History Bibliography" comp. Suzanne Morton and Janet Guildford. Acadiensis 29: no.2 1995 pp. 142-180

Changing Women, Changing History: A Bibliography of the History of Women in Canada. 2nd ed. D. Pedersen Ref. Z 7964 C2 P42 1996

Conrad, Margaret. Recording Angels : The Private Chronicles of Women from the Maritime Provinces of Canada, 1750-1950. Ottawa, Ont.: Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women, 1982.  MSVU call number CT 3270 .C6.  Descriptions with brief excerpts from important Maritimes diaries written by women.

Reference Books

Dictionary of Canadian Biography Ref. F 1005 D49

Note: The essays are not present in the online version http://www.biographi.ca/index.html

Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples Ref. F 1035 A1 E56 1999

Historical Atlas of Canada Ref. G 1116 S1 H58 1987

V.1 From the Beginnings to 1800

V.2 The Land Transformed 1800-1891

V.3 Addressing the Twentieth Century 1891-1961

MSVU Physical Books (Print)

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License. Creative Commons License
You may copy the guide as long as credit is included. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials. Please be aware that many of our guides contain links to subscription-based services for which access is restricted, and collections of resources that may have additional rights reserved. Please consult the licenses and terms of use for each resource.