Faculty may recommend the purchase of library material in support of teaching and research by completing the purchase of library material form. You may also forward print information to "Acquisitions - Orders" in the Library.
When possible, please ensure the item is not currently in our library collection.
For order questions, contact Rodney Tucker, Coordinator of Resources and Acquisitions: firstname.lastname@example.org / 902-457-6410
For broader questions about the collection or material selection, contact Nicole Slipp, Collections Librarian: Nicole.Slipp@msvu.ca / 902-457-6403
Recommendations for purchase
Although the Library has responsibility for collection development, a close partnership exists between librarians and departmental faculty in the selection of library material and resources. This collaboration builds a strong and well-balanced collection relevant to the needs of both students and faculty.
The Library welcomes recommendations from individual faculty members for the purchase of books (print or online - please specify), online resources, or other material. Some academic departments may opt to appoint a Library Coordinator to liaise with the Library on orders; this is not required.
The following order of priority should be considered for resources selection:
1. The development and active maintenance of a core collection that supports the curriculum;
2. More specialized material of interest to several teaching departments;
3. More specialized materials of interest to a single teaching department; and
4. More specialized materials of interest to one or a few individuals.
Submitting orders for books and media/video
1. You can make requests by completing the online form, emailing email@example.com or a librarian, or sending print information to "Acquisitions - Orders" in the Library. If your request cannot be processed for any reason, you will be notified.
2. Mark RUSH on those orders which are needed immediately for use by a class. The Library will interpret this to mean: order this immediately using the quickest possible method, regardless of added cost. We ask that this method be used only when necessary.
3. You will be notified by e-mail when an item has been received by the Library.
Journals, databases, and continuing subscriptions
Journal and database subscriptions are long-term, often expensive commitments. While we endeavour to subscribe to all the resources required for teaching and research, sometimes this is not possible. All journal and database requests are reviewed by the Collections Librarian and University Librarian.
Materials such as software or audio-visuals, etc., the use of which is intended to be restricted to members of a department or one class, should be purchased from departmental budgets.