Guides: Library DIY: Looking for theses or dissertations

I am looking for theses or dissertations.

Dissertations are book-length works based on a PhD candidate's original research that are written as requirements for the doctoral degree. Theses are similar but shorter texts that are written by students working towards Master's and sometimes Bachelor's degrees. Both dissertations and theses offer researchers valuable insights and analysis of all subjects. They can also be useful in leading to other resources as part of your own research.

Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
Full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that were published since 1998.
MSVU e-Commons: MSVU Graduate Theses This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of graduate theses produced at MSVU since 2006. Includes theses from Education, Family Studies & Gerontology, Applied Human Nutrition, Women and Gender studies, Child and Youth Study, and Public Relations.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
An index providing access to over 1 million full-text open access graduate theses and dissertations from institutions in Canada, United States, and all over the world.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations. For students and researchers, the Union Catalog makes individual collections of NDLTD member institutions and consortia appear as one seamless digital library of ETDs.
EThOS ( Electronic Theses Online Service) This link opens in a new window
The aim of the Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS) is to maximise the availability and visibility of UK doctoral theses via a single web interface. It does this by providing both high quality metadata and, where possible, access to the full text either by downloading a PDF directly from EThOS or by following a link to the institutional repository.

Subject Databases
Many of our subject databases (including ERIC, PsycInfo, Ageline, MLA, SocIndex, Historical Abstracts/America: History & Life, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Gender Studies) provide indexing of select dissertations.

Degree-granting institution
Check the home institution for an online repository/archive. More and more theses and dissertations are being made available in open access format.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An academic search engine

Need information on submitting your thesis?

Please visit our comprehensive guide to thesis deposit at MSVU.