A permalink is a web address that will consistently point to a specific information source such as an ebook, an article, a video, an image or a database.
Most research databases include a permalink in the article record. The terms used and the location of these links in the record vary from one database to another. Look for terms or icons like:
or 
or 
or 
Web addresses (URLs) that appear in the address bar of your web browser when you search the library's subscription databases usually contain dynamically generated session-based or search-based information that will not work when copied and used at a later time. THEY EXPIRE!
You may be in violation of copyright law or license restrictions if you post content without appropriate authorization or permission. Using permalinks is the preferred option. For more information about copyright law, please see the MSVU Copyright Guide. Permalinks are also used to help track statistics. Usage statistics help the library purchase the right resources for you.
When on campus, access is transparent -- you are being authenticated even if you don't realize it because we recognize the IP address. When off campus, authentication via a proxy server, allows us to recognize and authenticate MSVU Library users. In order for the library's electronic resources paid subscriptions to work from outside our campus network or off campus, they must contain the library's proxy in the URL. This in turn will open a box prompting you to provide your MSVU login information.
The Mount Library's proxy server (http://ezproxy.msvu.ca) provides external websites (i.e., scholarly databases) with information that identifies Mount students, staff and faculty as authorized users.
For example: if you visit Academic Search Premiere from your home computer, using a link you found in Google, you will hit a paywall.
However, if you visit Academic Search Premiere from home using the Mount Library website, you will have full access. This is all thanks to our proxy server.
URLs that route through the proxy server can be identified by a string of characters similar to the following:
http://ezproxy.msvu.ca/login?url=
Any links to licenced resources (databases, journal articles, etc.) posted in Moodle should include proxy information. This is especially important for online courses. Without proxy information added to URLs, students will be unable to access materials from off-campus.
Many of the Mount Library's licenced databases automatically include proxy information in their URLs, but many others do not. This guide will help faculty build functional URLs that include proxy information.
Need help? Have questions? Contact reserves@msvu.ca
EBSCO databases require the use of a permalink. The links in the browser address bar are temporary and will expire
Go to a particular article or record:
