Guides: Children's Literature: Books, Theses & More

Online Reference Sources

Children's Literature Review (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Excerpts from reviews, criticism, and commentary on books for children and young people.
Select Children's Literature Review from the list of series
Something About the Author (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Information on the lives and works of contemporary and historical authors and illustrators of children’s books.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Detailed biographies of deceased persons who have made a significant contribution to Great Britain and the British Empire.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language and the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words.

Canadian Children's Book Centre

Canadian Children's Book Centre Catalogue This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Children's Book Centre has a collection of every Canadian children's books published since 1976, including young adult books, series and juvenile non-fiction. The MSVU Library is now the Atlantic regional deposit for this collection of over 6,000 titles.

You can also access the titles in the CCBC Collection by searching the Novanet catalogue.

E-books and other online collections

International Children's Digital Library
An ambitious attempt to digitize the full-text of children's literature from around the world. At present picture books predominate among the over 2,600 books in 48 languages.

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
An international collection of musical and aural traditions.

Theses & Dissertations

Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
Full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that were published since 1998.
MSVU e-Commons: MSVU Graduate Theses This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of graduate theses produced at MSVU since 2006. Includes theses from Education, Family Studies & Gerontology, Applied Human Nutrition, Women and Gender studies, Child and Youth Study, and Public Relations.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
An index providing access to over 1 million full-text open access graduate theses and dissertations from institutions in Canada, United States, and all over the world.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations. For students and researchers, the Union Catalog makes individual collections of NDLTD member institutions and consortia appear as one seamless digital library of ETDs.
EThOS ( Electronic Theses Online Service) This link opens in a new window
The aim of the Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS) is to maximise the availability and visibility of UK doctoral theses via a single web interface. It does this by providing both high quality metadata and, where possible, access to the full text either by downloading a PDF directly from EThOS or by following a link to the institutional repository.

Subject Databases
Many of our subject databases (including ERIC, PsycInfo, Ageline, MLA, SocIndex, Historical Abstracts/America: History & Life, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Gender Studies) provide indexing of select dissertations.

Degree-granting institution
Check the home institution for an online repository/archive. More and more theses and dissertations are being made available in open access format.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An academic search engine

Young People and the Effects of War

Some recent Canadian books, on deposit in the Library as part of the Canadian Children's Book Centre donation, to honour the work of peace educators and to mark Being the Change: Building a Culture of Peace, the Conference held at the Mount from July 7 to July 10, 2010