Open Educational Resources

Lists open textbooks in a number of subject areas. It also includes a directory of other open textbook sites and a guide to using open textbooks

A database of interactive tutorials, quizzes, timelines, and simulations that can be downloaded and integrated into Moodle.

A discovery service that points to Open Access books that can be found elsewhere. It enables you to search the description of the books and to download the books from the publisher's site.

This repository offers a curated collection of textbooks, many of which have been reviewed and vetted by educators across Canada.

Knowledge Unlatched makes scholarly content freely available to everyone by transitioning monographs and journals in a wide variety of disciplines from paywalled to Open Access content.

George Mason University Libraries, in conjunction with Deep Web Technologies, has created an OER Metafinder that searches across several open repositories.

SUNY (State Universities of New York) has developed a search tool that currently searches content from many OER different sources

A digital public library and collaboration platform that contains high-quality OERs for all levels of education.

The OAPEN Library hosts and disseminates OA peer-reviewed academic books mainly in the areas of the humanities and social sciences.

A not-for-profit Social Enterprise run by academics, Open Book Publishers is the largest independent open access academic publisher of monographs in the UK.

Educational materials organized in small modules and freely available to be customized as you wish. An initiative of Rice University.

The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. Supported by the Open Textbook Network.

A global directory of thousands of Open Textbooks published using the Pressbooks platform.

Theories of biological aging are essential to understanding age-related diseases such as heart disease, cancer, and stroke that now cause most deaths in developed countries and are the subject of the majority of current medical research efforts. The evolutionary basis of aging and consequent theories of human senescence have been controversial for more than 150 years and represent one of the most important unresolved issues of modern science.

Until recently researchers almost exclusively followed non-programmed theories of aging that suggest that generally each manifestation of aging must be individually addressed and that aging, per se, is an untreatable condition. Emerging programmed aging theories suggest that aging is itself a treatable condition and substantially funded research activities based on this idea now exist.

The book includes the most recent data in the following categories, so your students have access to the latest sociological trends: crime and victimization, income and poverty, life expectancy and aging, employment, marriage and divorce, education, medical care and health disparities, and fertility and population change.

This book is based on the twelve critical areas of concern identified in the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action at the Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing in 1995: The burden of poverty on women, unequal access to education and training, inequalities and inadequacies in and unequal access to health care and related services, violence against women, the effects of armed or other kinds of conflict on women, including those living under foreign occupation, inequality in economic structures and policies, inequality between men and women in the sharing of power and decision-making at all levels, insufficient mechanisms at all levels to promote the advancement of women, lack of respect for and inadequate promotion and protection of the human rights of women, stereotyping of women and inequality in women's access to and participation in all communication systems, especially in the media, gender inequalities in the management of natural resources and in the safeguarding of the environment, and persistent discrimination against and violation of the rights of the girl child.

Teaching materials: multiple choice questions, discussion questions, essay questions

This textbook introduces the idea of lifespan development from a psychological perspective.