Links to Archives in Nova Scotia
MemoryNS provides access to archival records from institutions across Nova Scotia, and is an initiative of the Council of Nova Scotia Archives. Search MemoryNS to find detailed information about the records and their creators as well as contact information for the contributing archives.
Nova Scotia Archives
NSA acquires, preserves and makes available the province's documentary heritage – recorded information of provincial significance created or accumulated by government and the private sector over the last 300 years.
Nova Scotia Historical Newspapers Online
A collection of seventeen digitized historical Nova Scotia newspapers published between 1769 - 2002. The collection includes papers published in English, French, and Gaelic.
Halifax Municipal Archives is the official repository for historical municipal government records from Halifax, Dartmouth, Bedford and the former County of Halifax, and also holds community records from the region.
Nova Scotia University Archives
Links to Canadian Archives
Links to virtual exhibits and photo databases residing on the web sites of individual archives or Provincial/Territorial Councils.
Library and Archives Canada (LAC)
LAC collects and preserves Canada's documentary heritage, and makes it accessible to all Canadians. Their collections include publications, archival records, sound and audio-visual materials, photographs, artworks, and electronic documents.
An online research and consultation tool, provides access to a variety of information resources related to the actual archival holdings.
Links to International Archives
Provides links to national and state archives around the world.
UNESCO Archives Portal
"An international gateway to information for archivists and archives users." This resource provides links to archives around the world and includes links to internet resources for primary sources online.
15 Lumpkin Rd.
Halifax NS, B3M 2J6
Hours: By appointment
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License.