Environmental Studies

Lists open textbooks in a number of subject areas. It also includes a directory of other open textbook sites and a guide to using open textbooks.

A database of interactive tutorials, quizzes, timelines, and simulations that can be downloaded and integrated into Moodle.

A discovery service that points to Open Access books that can be found elsewhere. It enables you to search the description of the books and to download the books from the publisher's site.

This repository offers a curated collection of textbooks, many of which have been reviewed and vetted by educators across Canada.

Knowledge Unlatched makes scholarly content freely available to everyone by transitioning monographs and journals in a wide variety of disciplines from paywalled to Open Access content.

George Mason University Libraries, in conjunction with Deep Web Technologies, has created an OER Metafinder that searches across several open repositories.

SUNY (State Universities of New York) has developed a search tool that currently searches content from many OER different sources.

A digital public library and collaboration platform that contains high-quality OERs for all levels of education.

The OAPEN Library hosts and disseminates OA peer-reviewed academic books mainly in the areas of the humanities and social sciences.

A not-for-profit Social Enterprise run by academics, Open Book Publishers is the largest independent open access academic publisher of monographs in the UK.

Educational materials organized in small modules and freely available to be customized as you wish. An initiative of Rice University.

The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. Supported by the Open Textbook Network.

A global directory of thousands of Open Textbooks published using the Pressbooks platform.

The book Advances in Environmental Monitoring and Assessment is a collection of the latest research techniques on environmental monitoring and assessments. The authors believe that the information contained in this book will enhance the skills of environmental scientists and decision makers and contribute to the exchange of best practices for developing and implementing optimum methods for environmental assessment and management.

In this important intervention, change-agent Marianne E. Krasny challenges the knowledge-attitudes-behavior pathway that underpins much of environmental education practice; i.e., the assumption that environmental knowledge and attitudes lead to environmental behaviors. Krasny shows that certain types of knowledge are more likely than others to influence behaviors, and that generally it is more effective to work with existing attitudes than to try to change them.

The principal aim of this book is to present the reader with a broad overview of Earth and Environmental Sciences. Hopefully, this research will provide the reader with a useful foundation for discussing and evaluating specific environmental issues, as well as for developing ideas for problem solving.

Environmental Activism on the Ground draws upon a wide range of interdisciplinary scholarship to examine small scale, local environmental activism, paying particular attention to Indigenous experiences. It illuminates the questions that are central to the ongoing evolution of the environmental movement while reappraising the history and character of late twentieth and early twenty-first environmentalism in Canada, the United States, and beyond.

Environmental Biology enables students to develop a nuanced understanding of today's most pressing environmental issues. This text helps students grasp the scientific foundation of these issues so that they can better understand the world around them and their impact upon it. This open textbook covers the most salient environmental issues, from a biological perspective. The text is designed for an introductory-level college science course.

Environmental Management - Pollution, Habitat, Ecology, and Sustainability includes sixteen chapters that discuss pressing environmental issues in diverse locations around the world. Chapters discuss methods, technologies, analyses, and actions that may enlighten and enable decision-makers and managers in their quests for control of environmental problems.

This publication shows many examples of environmental management. The diversity of presented aspects within environmental management and approaching the subject from the perspective of various countries contributes greatly to the development of environmental management field of research.

This textbook is intended to provide the core elements of a curriculum for teaching environmental science at the introductory level in Canadian colleges and universities. It is also appropriate for arts students who require a science elective, and for science students who require a non-major elective. This book was written from the ground-up to provide Canadian information and examples. This national context is integrated throughout the text, along with North American and global data that provide a broader perspective.

Welcome to Environmental Sustainability in Practice! We are excited that you are interested in learning more about what is happening in the field of environmental sustainability. We have chosen to introduce you to five areas in which society is working towards environmental sustainability: education, planning and management, agriculture, geospatial technologies, and communications.

This open online textbook on Environmental Toxicology aims at covering the field in its full width, including aspects of environmental chemistry, ecotoxicology, toxicology and risk assessment. With that, it will contribute to improving the quality, continuity and transparency of the education in environmental toxicology.

This book brings together research from around the world to explore the complexities of contemporary, and historical environmental change. Dimensions of environmental change explored in this volume include: climate change, historical environmental change, biological responses to environmental change, land use and land cover change, policy and management for environmental change.

This book examines the relationship between environmental justice and citizen science, focusing on enduring issues and new challenges in a post-truth age. For decades, environmental justice activists have campaigned against the misuses of science, while at the same time engaging in community-led citizen science. However, post-truth politics has threatened science itself. This book makes the case for the importance of science, knowledge, and data that are produced by and for ordinary people living with environmental risks and hazards.

Knowing Home attempts to capture the creative vision of Indigenous scientific knowledge and technology that is derived from an ecology of a home place. Book 1 provides an overview of why traditional knowledge and wisdom should be included in the science curriculum, a window into the science and technologies of the Indigenous peoples who live in Northwestern North America, Indigenous worldview, culturally responsive teaching strategies and curriculum models, and evaluative techniques.

The traditional wisdom component of Indigenous Science—the values and ways of decision-making—assists humans in their relationship with each other, the land and water, and all of creation. The book provides a window into the vast storehouse of innovations and technologies of the Indigenous peoples who live in Northwestern North America.

Source description: "A practical guide to fostering change in university courses and faculty by embedding discipline-based education specialists within departments."

Allows you to search a variety of Creative Commons collections including Flickr, Wikimedia Commons, and Open Clip Art Library.

An overview of various Creative Commons licenses available.

Open Educational Resources created by Mount faculty.

This toolkit provides information and tools to help faculty to understand, engage with, and sustain OER in their work and practice.