Guides: Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, &amp; Accessibility: Databases & Books

Databases

LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Formerly called LGBT Life. Index for world literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. At present there is a limited full-text component.
LGBT Thought and Culture (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting the key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection contains 150,000 pages of rare archival content, including seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera.

Using Keywords

The selection of databases provided in this section are directly relevant to this area of study, but that does not mean that they are the only databases you can use for research in this area. There are many other databases available for you to use at MSVU for 2SLGBTQIA+ research in conjunction with relevant keywords. Some keywords that could be used to find 2SLGBTQIA+ topics in databases are:

2SLGBTQIA+
LGBT
Queer
Gay
Lesbian
Bisexual
Transgender

And many more! For a comprehensive list of keywords check out this link!

Glossary of LGBT Terms ([U.S.] National LGBT Health Education Center)

Books

Re/Orienting Writing Studies by William P. Banks, Matthew B. Cox, & Caroline Dadas
Publication Date: 2019
"Focusing careful theoretical attention on common research practices, this collection demonstrates how queer rhetorics of writing/composing, textual analysis, history, assessment, and embodiment/identity significantly alter both methods and methodologies in writing studies."
Other, Please Specify by D'Lane R. Compton, Tey Meadow, & Kristen Schilt
Publication Date: 2018
"This provocative collection showcases the work of emerging and established sociologists in the fields of sexuality and gender studies as they reflect on what it means to develop, practice, and teach queer methods."
Queer Methods and Methodologies by Kath Browne & Catherine J. Nash
Publication Date: 2010
"Queer Methods and Methodologies provides the first systematic consideration of the implications of a queer perspective in the pursuit of social scientific research."
Handbook of Research with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Populations by William Meezan & James I. Martin
Publication Date: 2008
"Handbook of Research with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Populations provides a detailed examination of the current methods and theoretical frameworks for conducting research with LGBT populations and advocates for the practical advantages of introducing greater complexity and nuance in designing and implementing research models."