Guides: Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, &amp; Accessibility: Asian Studies

Asian Studies

Asian Studies is the study of Asian culture, history, language and people globally.

Databases

World Bank Country Overviews This link opens in a new window
Website for the World Bank Group. Includes access to statistics, data, and research publications.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
2000 world history journals indexed/abstracted with links to full-text.
Asian American Drama (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
This edition of Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Using Keywords

The selection of databases provided in this section are directly relevant to this area of study, but that does not mean that they are the only databases you can use for research in this area. There are many other databases available for you to use at MSVU for research on Asian Studies in conjunction with relevant keywords. Some keywords that could be used to find relevant information in databases are:

Pacific Island
Pan-Asian
Asia
Migration
Immigration
Trans-Pacific
Country names

And many more!

Books

Doing Fieldwork in China by Maria Heimer
ISBN: 0824830695
Publication Date: 2006
"Doing fieldwork inside the PRC is an eye-opening but sometimes also deeply frustrating experience. In this volume scholars from around the world reflect on their own fieldwork practice to give practical advice and discuss more general theoretical points."
The Bloomsbury Research Handbook of Indian Philosophy and Gender by Veena R. Howard
ISBN: 1474269605
Publication Date: 2019
"The Bloomsbury Research Handbook of Indian Philosophy and Gender opens up new ways of understanding gender and South Asian philosophy."
Fieldwork in South Asia by Sarit K. Chaudhuri & Sucheta Sen Chaudhuri
ISBN: 9788132117421
Publication Date: 2014
"Fieldwork in South Asia is a valuable attempt to listen and learn from the memories and significant moments of fieldwork done by anthropologists, sociologists, and even historians from South Asia."
What about Asia?: Revisiting Asian Studies by Josine Stremmelaar & Paul Van Velde
ISBN: 1280958472
Publication Date: 2010
The Asian Studies Parade by Paul van der Velde
ISBN: 9789087283995
Publication Date: 2023
"The Asian Studies Parade reflects a lifetime of commitment to the field by Paul van der Velde, a leading Asian studies innovator, scholar, and publisher. This unique work will interest anyone concerned with wider issues in Asian studies."
Displacements and Diasporas by Wanni W. Anderson & Robert G. Lee
ISBN: 1280462892
Publication Date: 2005
"Bringing together essays by thirteen scholars from the humanities and social sciences, Displacements and Diasporas explores this genuinely transnational Asian American experience one that crosses the Pacific and traverses the Americas from Canada to Brazil, from New York to the Caribbean."