Guides: Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, &amp; Accessibility: Black Studies

Black Studies

Black Studies combines the study of Black culture and history, and African diaspora. This is not limited to any geographic space, instead focusing on the experiences of people in Black communities globally.

Databases

Black History Canada This link opens in a new window
An annotated guide to online sources on the history of the Canadian Black community.
Black Thought and Culture (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains 795 sources with 434 authors which includes the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.
Black Drama (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photos.
North American Slave Narratives This link opens in a new window
Documents the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries. Includes narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books to 1920.
Race and Place: An African American Community This link opens in a new window
Photos, letters, regional censuses, oral histories, and town map for Charlottesville, Virginia.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice 1490-2007 (CRKN - Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
Manuscript and printed material on trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition along with contextual essays by leading academics. Includes Slavery as it exists today.

Using Keywords

The selection of databases provided in this section are directly relevant to this area of study, but that does not mean that they are the only databases you can use for research in this area. There are many other databases available for you to use at MSVU for research on Black studies in conjunction with relevant keywords. Some keywords that could be used to find Black Studies information in databases are:

Slavery
Colonialism
African American
African Canadian
Black
Black Canadian
Critical Race Theory
Emancipation

And many more!

Books

The Handbook of Research on Black Males by Theodore S. Ransaw, C. P. Gause, & Richard Majors
Publication Date: 2018
"This text, which acts as a comprehensive tool that can serve as a resource to articulate and argue for policy change, suggest educational improvements, and advocate judicial reform, fills a large void."
Oral Narrative Research with Black Women by Kim Marie Vaz
Publication Date: 1997
"This insightful and thought-provoking resource explores in detail: how new information about African women is being created; the strengths of oral narrative research for expanding and transforming knowledge about black women; and how carrying out oral history research has affected the researchers personal and professional lives."
Transnational Black Feminism and Qualitative Research by Tanja J. Burkhard
Publication Date: 2021
"Transnational Black Feminism and Qualitative Research invites readers to consider what it means to conduct research within their own communities by interrogating local and global contexts of colonialism, race, and migration."
Black Education by Joyce E. King
ISBN: 1135602786
Publication Date: 2006
"This volume presents the findings and recommendations of the American Educational Research Association's (AERA) Commission on Research in Black Education (CORIBE) and offers new directions for research and practice."
Black Intersectionalities by Monica Michlin & Jean-Paul Rocchi
ISBN: 9781846319389
Publication Date: 2014
"Black Intersectionalities: A Critique for the 21st Century explores the complex interrelationships between race, gender, and sex as these are conceptualised within contemporary thought."