Guides: Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, &amp; Accessibility: Databases & Books

Databases

Indigenous Peoples: North America (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This archive of primary sources includes monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections.
Indigenous Studies Portal (iportal) This link opens in a new window
Created and maintained by the University of Saskatchewan Libraries.

Using Keywords

The selection of databases provided in this section are directly relevant to this area of study, but that does not mean that they are the only databases you can use for research in this area. There are many other databases available for you to use at MSVU for research on Indigenous topics in conjunction with relevant keywords. Some keywords that could be used to find Indigenous topic information in databases are:

Indigenous
Indigenous studies
Mi'kmaq
Sovereignty
Colonialism
Indigenous nations
Two-Eyed Seeing
Reconcilation

And many more!

Books

Research Is Ceremony by Shawn Wilson
Publication Date: 2008
"This book describes a research paradigm shared by Indigenous scholars in Canada and Australia, and demonstrates how this paradigm can be put into practice."
Indigenous Research by Deborah McGregor, Jean-Paul Restoule & Rochelle Johnston
Publication Date: 2018
"This ground-breaking edited collection provides readers with concrete and in-depth examples of how to overcome the challenges of Indigenous research with respect to Indigenous worldviews, epistemologies, and ontology."
Indigenous Research Ethics by Lily George, Juan Tauri, Lindsey Te Ata O. Tu MacDonald
Publication Date: 2020
"This distinctive volume presents Indigenous research as strong and self-determined with theories, ethics and methodologies arising from within unique cultural contexts."
Decolonizing Methodologies by Linda Tuhiwai Smith
Publication Date: 2013
"This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.'"
Indigenous Statistics by Maggie Walter & Chris Andersen
Publication Date: 2016
"This book dismantles that persistent positivism with a forceful critique, then fills the void with a new paradigm for Indigenous quantitative methods, using concrete examples of research projects from First World Indigenous peoples in the United States, Australia, and Canada."