Guides: Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, &amp; Accessibility: Latin American & Caribbean Studies

Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Latin American and Caribbean Studies is the study of Latin and Caribbean culture, language and history. This area of study is not necessarily limited to geographic location, rather focusing on the experiences of people.

Databases

Latino Literature (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Latino Literature contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
Country Profiles. (BBC) This link opens in a new window
Guides to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
World Bank Country Overviews This link opens in a new window
Website for the World Bank Group. Includes access to statistics, data, and research publications.
In the First Person This link opens in a new window
In-depth indexing of more than 2,500 collections of oral history in English from around the world.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
2000 world history journals indexed/abstracted with links to full-text.

Using Keywords

The selection of databases provided in this section are directly relevant to this area of study, but that does not mean that they are the only databases you can use for research in this area. There are many other databases available for you to use at MSVU for research on Latin American and Caribbean Studies in conjunction with relevant keywords. Some keywords that could be used to find relevant information in databases are:

Latin America
Carribbean
Afro-Latin
South America
Latino/Latina/Latin
Hispanic
Latinx/Latine
Chicano/Chicana/Chincanx/Chicane
Black
African Canadian

And more!

Books

Handbook of Latin American Studies, Vol. 75 by Tracy North
Publication Date: 2021
"The Handbook annotates works on Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean and the Guianas, Spanish South America, and Brazil, as well as materials covering Latin America as a whole. Most of the subsections are preceded by introductory essays that serve as biannual evaluations of the literature and research under way in specialized areas."
The Companion to Latin American Studies by Philip Swanson
Publication Date: 2014
"What is 'Latin American Studies'? This companion gives a concise and accessible overview of the discipline."
Dictionary of Latin American Cultural Studies by Robert M. Irwin &; Monica Szurmuk
ISBN: 0813040523
Publication Date: 2012
Latino Social Policy by Juana Mora & David Diaz
Publication Date: 2004
"Latino Social Policy: A Participatory Research Model examines the failure of traditional research methods to address major social needs in Latino communities, promoting instead a participatory/action approach to research that is socially--and scientifically--meaningful."
Digital Poverty by Hernan Galperin & Judith Mariscal
Publication Date: 2007
"This book examines the problem of inadequate access to information and communication technology (ICT) and the need to develop appropriate pro-poor ICT policies within the Latin American and Caribbean context."
Caribbean Interfaces by Lieven D'Hulst, Jean-Marc Moura, Liesbeth De Bleeker, & Nadia Lie
Publication Date: 2007
"The concept of a unified Caribbean literary space remains questionable, depending upon whether one strictly limits it to the islands, enlarges it to adopt a Latin-American perspective, or even grants it inter-American dimensions. This book is an ambitious tentative to bring together specialists from various disciplines: neither just French, Spanish, English, or Comparative studies specialists, nor strictly "Caribbean literature" specialists, but also theoreticians, cultural studies scholars, historians of cultural translation and of intercultural transfers."
Decolonizing Qualitative Approaches for and by the Caribbean by Saran Stewart
Publication Date: 2019
"Common to the Caribbean is an understanding of how colonial legacies of research have ridiculed oral traditions, language, and ways of knowing, often rendering them valueless and inconsequential. This proposed edited volume acknowledges the significance of decolonizing approaches to qualitative research in the Caribbean and the wider Caribbean diaspora."