Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library & Archives Resources & Services

New library system

Novanet’s integrated library system was upgraded in May 2022. This upgrade has expanded access to materials and improved the user experience for students, faculty, and staff. 

MSVU Library & Archives staff are available in person, over the phone (902-457-6250) or via email (library@msvu.ca) to answer questions.

What has changed

You may notice some changes to the way things look in the areas listed below. We are still tweaking the new system so some of the details may change. Check this page for the latest updates.

Sign in to your library account

Novanet Login ScreenIf you are currently a student, staff or faculty member at MSVU, please use the same login as for your MSVU email account.

If you are MSVU alumni or a community borrower, please choose 'Other User' and sign in with the credentials provided by the MSVU Library (usually the barcode of the card you use to borrow materials with a PIN comprised of the last 4 digits of the phone number you provided).

 If you cannot sign in, please contact the Library Desk (phone 902-457-6520 or email library@msvu.ca). You will know you have signed in successfully when your name appears in the upper right corner of the screen. 

Please log in to your MSVU Library account via the Mount Library website to access the list of institutions from which you have borrowed books. Your MSVU login credentials only work with the MSVU Library account.

The one exception to using your MSVU email credentials is the MSVU Document Delivery account. To log in, enter your 14-digit barcode (on the front of your Mount ID card or the back of your library card). Your password is your surname (exactly how it is spelled in your library account). Please contact us at library@msvu.ca if you experience any problems logging into the Document Delivery form.

Renew books online.

Novanet Account Loans Page

Your MSVU Library account allows you to renew books.

Click on My Loans in your Novanet account to see your active loans.

The list on the left of the screen shows all the Novanet libraries.

The checked boxes indicate the libraries for which you have active loans.

Click on the library to view the renew buttons for your borrowed books.

If you are unable to renew items after the due date has passed, please contact the library that owns the book (as indicated in your library account). A list of Novanet Libraries Desk Contacts is available for your convenience.

 

Check or request full-text journal articles

When you check for full text for articles using the Check for Full Text or Check Full Text @ MSVU in the article databases or Google Scholar, you will be shown the link for available items in the Novanet Search interface.

Links to Full Text

  • Click on the link under the heading Full Text Availablity.
    If the are several sources, the sources at MSVU appear at the top of the list.
  • You may be prompted to sign in to the MSVU Library.
  • If the full text of the article is not available, please follow the instructions in the Requesting an Article guide.

Journals A-Z search screenSearch for a Journal Title

The Journal Title search is still accessed by the Journal Title link below the Novanet Search box.

You will notice that it uses the Novanet Search interface. You may search by journal title or ISSN. The Journal Title Search DOES NOT  search for journal articles.

Book a Study Room

Student Study Room bookings are available in person (first come, first served). Online booking will return soon.

My Favourites

Unfortunately, items and searches saved in My Favourites before May 18, 2022, were lost during the upgrade. We apologize for the inconvenience. 

Search tips: Finding books and articles

Searching for Books with Novanet

Searching for Articles with Library Databases

Connecting to MSVU full-text articles with Google Scholar